According to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV), about 25% of all car crashes involve a hit-and-run incident. A hit-and-run is when someone is involved in a car accident but flees from the scene before law enforcement arrives. The most serious offense in these situations occurs when a person hits a pedestrian and then leaves, especially if it results in the pedestrian’s death.
What is most important to remember is that first and foremost, leaving the scene of an accident is illegal in the state of Florida. Florida law is tough on those who flee the scene of a crash.
Punishments for causing injury or death at a hit-and-run accident:
Second- or third-degree felony
Driver’s license revoked for 3 years
5-year prison sentence
Minimum 4 years in prison, maximum 30 years
License revoked for 3 years minimum
According to FL law, all who are involved in an accident are required to stop and wait for the police, even if they are not responsible for causing the crash.
For some, being in an accident where a pedestrian was hit may trigger a type of “fight or flight” response. This can be due to the adrenaline rushing through your body. However, even though it may seem like it is your best bet, remember this: It is not. We advise you to remain at the scene of the crime until law enforcement gets there. However, be sure to contact an attorney right away as well to protect your rights.
If you are being charged for leaving the scene of an accident, you should hire a lawyer as soon as possible. Getting an experienced lawyer is your best chance at reducing your penalties or getting your case dropped altogether. Contact the law office of Michael B. Cohen today for a free consultation today.