State laws concerning concealed weapons work differently depending on what state you are in. Florida is known as one of the more lenient states in the U.S. to own firearms, but in order to do this, you need to have a concealed carry license. While The U.S. Supreme Court does say that Americans have the right to own firearms, they also restrict who can get them and how in order to keep the general public safe.
Florida has requirements in order for someone to obtain a concealed carry license:
You must be at least 21 years old (unless you’re in the armed forces).
A U.S. citizen or a permanent resident alien and currently residing in the U.S.
Provide a certificate of completion from a licensed firearm training class to display competency.
No disqualifying criminal record.
You must complete the application, submit payment, and provide fingerprints.
As stated in bullet #4, some criminal convictions can prevent you from obtaining a concealed carry license. If you have a misdemeanor, you must wait three years in order to obtain one. However, if you have a felony on your record, you are prohibited from having and obtaining a firearm in general.
Concealed carry permits are not necessary in every situation in Florida. If you do not have a concealed carry permit, you may have a weapon:
In your home or business, more so when you’re a business owner
Transporting to another location
Standing your ground in self-defense
Otherwise, including when you are traveling, the firearm must be in a secured case that is not readily accessible. If you are charged and convicted of carrying a firearm without a concealed carry permit, it is considered a first-degree misdemeanor, which can result in up to one year in jail and a $1,000 fine.
If you’ve been charged with unlawfully carrying a firearm, hiring a proven effective lawyer is crucial to your freedom. The office of Michael B. Cohen can provide you with all the information and guidance you’ll need. Call us today at 954.928.0059.